Skip to main content

Top ten NFL Conference Title Game upsets

Written By | Jan 18, 2014

SOUTH FLORIDA, January 18, 2014 — As exciting as the Super Bowl can be, the AFC and NFC Title Games can be even more thrilling. The right to go to the Super Bowl has seen some shocking upsets over the years. This year, all of the teams remaining are solid. Regardless of which team wins, there will be few people surprised. Here are the top ten biggest upsets in Conference Title Game history.

10. 2005 AFC — Steelers 34, Broncos 17 — Pittsburgh was only 11-5, and 13-3 Denver had Jake Plummer leading them and looked ready to win it all. Pittsburgh led 21-3 at halftime and stunned the Mile High crowd. This would rank higher except Pittsburgh shocked 14-2 Indianapolis one week earlier en route to winning the Super Bowl.

9. 2011 NFC — Giants 20, 49ers 17, OT — The Giants were only 9-7, and the 11-4-1 49ers seemed far superior. The 49ers actually outplayed the Giants the entire game, but two fumbled punts killed San Francisco. This would rank higher except the Giants were a very confident bunch from having won it all in 2007. They would go on to win it again in 2011.

8. 1975 NFC — Cowboys 17, Vikings 14 — Minnesota was the two-time defending NFC champions, and a third crown seemed assured when they led 14-10 late. Roger Staubach would throw the first Hail Mary to Drew Pearson for the 50-yard touchdown bomb. Minnesota fans insist Pearson pushed off on Nate Wright, getting away with offensive pass interference.

7. 2007 NFC — Giants 23, Packers 20, OT — The Giants were only 10-6. While they did go on the road and beat Tampa Bay and then top-seeded Dallas, Green Bay won their playoff game by 22 points. At home, on the frozen tundra of Lambeau field, Brett Favre was expected to get the Packers back to the big game. The Giants out-played the Packers, and a key interception by Favre in overtime turned out to be his final pass in green and gold. The Giants would shock the world by defeating 18-0 New England in the Super Bowl.

6. 2003 NFC — Panthers 14, Eagles 3 — Carolina was a good team, but the Eagles were in their third straight NFC Title Game, the second straight one at home. They had lost the previous two and were expected to finally get over the hump. Instead the Carolina defense belted Donovan McNabb, who played most of the game injured. He was rendered immobile.

5. 1990 NFC — Giants 15, 49ers 13 — Both teams started 10-0, lost their 11th game, and played one of the greatest games in Monday Night Football history, a 7-3 win by the 49ers in San Francisco. The Giants were 13-3, but had backup quarterback Jeff Hostetler playing for injured Phil Simms. The 49ers had won the last two Super Bowls and were expected to easily three-peat. Instead the Giants knocked Joe Montana out of the game and harassed backup Steve Young. With time running out, the Giants’ defense blasted Roger Craig, forcing a key fumble. Matt Bahr kicked his fifth field goal on the final play to send the Giants to the Super Bowl, where again as heavy underdogs to Buffalo they won on the final play.

4. 1985 AFC — Patriots 31, Dolphins 14 — The 11-5 Patriots went on the road and thrashed the Jets before shocking the top-seeded 12-4 Raiders. They had no chance against Miami. Dan Marino was expected to get the Dolphins to his second straight Super Bowl. He was in the midst of a four-year passing spree that shattered NFL record books. The Dolphins’ offense had an off day and the Patriots shocked the football world before getting blasted by Chicago.

3. 1998 NFC — Falcons 30, Vikings 27, OT — The Falcons did go 14-2, but the 15-1 Vikings were one of the greatest offenses in NFL history. Randall Cunningham was raining bombs to Chris Carter and Randy Moss with ease. In this game, the Vikings jumped to a 20-7 lead and led 27-20 with a chance to put the game away late. Gary Anderson had not missed a field goal in two years, but this 40-yarder was no good. The defense melted down with John Randall on the sideline injured. Atlanta tied it, and Minnesota just missed connecting on a bomb in overtime. When Morton Anderson hit the winning field goal, Minnesota became perhaps one of the greatest teams to never win it all. Vikings fans still cannot believe they lost this game.

2. 2002 NFC — Buccaneers 27, Eagles 10 — The Eagles had humiliated the Buccaneers six straight times at home. They had knocked Tampa Bay out of the playoffs in 2000 and 2001, costing Tony Dungy his job. In 2002, Jon Gruden saw his team go into Philadelphia during the regular season and lose 20-10. Andy Reid had to feel good when the Eagles led 7-0 only one minute into the NFC Title Game. The Buccaneers responded and just hit the Eagles in the mouth. Late in the game, Donovan McNabb had the Eagles within striking distance. McNabb was then intercepted by Ronde Barber, who returned it 92 yards for the clinching touchdown. A shell shocked crowd saw the final game at Veterans Stadium end in defeat. Warren Sapp went to the Hall of Fame, and Derrick Brooks, John Lynch and Ronde Barber may all join him in Canton.

1. 1994 AFC — Chargers 17, Steelers 13 — If ever a team had no business going to a Super Bowl, it was the 1994 Chargers. They started 6-0, went 5-5 down the stretch, and fell behind Miami 21-6 in the Divisional round. San Diego came back and won 22-21 when Miami missed a field goal to win it on the final play. Pittsburgh had a phenomenal defense led by Rod Woodson. San Diego had Stan Humphries, a quarterback with guts who took a beating. The Steelers led 13-3 after three quarters but never put the game away at home. After the Chargers took a four point lead, the Steelers drove to a fourth and goal at the three with little time left. Neil O’Donnell had his pass batted down. Junior Seau and the San Diego defense celebrated their win before getting blasted in the Super Bowl the following week.

Tags: , ,

Eric Golub

Brooklyn born, Long Island raised and now living in Los Angeles, Eric Golub is a politically conservative columnist, blogger, author, public speaker, satirist and comedian. Read more from Eric at his TYGRRRR EXPRESS blog. Eric is the author of the book trilogy “Ideological Bigotry, “Ideological Violence,” and “Ideological Idiocy.”