Skip to main content

NFL Playoff preview: NFC Title Game

Written By | Jan 17, 2014

SOUTH FLORIDA, January 17, 2014 — Time to put away the good china and get ready for sheer ugliness. The Super Bowl is a gathering. The NFC Title Game is going to be a street fight.

The also-rans have been dispatched and two groups of fighters are prepared to throw punches. The San Francisco 49ers travel to Seattle take on the Seahawks for the George Halas Trophy.

How we got here: The 12-4 49ers and 13-3 Seahawks were two of the best teams before the season began and the regular season led to this moment. These teams are mirror images of each other. While Colin Kaepernick and Russell Wilson are both talented signal-callers, these teams win with a methodical offense and nasty defense.

Richard Sherman and the Legion of Boom have swagger, but the 49ers can lay the lumber as well. Even coaches Jim Harbaugh and Pete Carroll dislike each other going back to their college coaching days.

While the AFC Title Game is based on mutual admiration and respect, the NFC Title Game is based on mutual hatred. There is plenty of bulletin board material.

History: The last two years these teams have split the season series, with the home team winning each game. However, the 49ers barely survived in San Francisco while Seattle blasted the 49ers in the two games in the Pacific Northwest.

Prediction: Seattle talks and they back it up. On a neutral field or in San Francisco, the results could be different, but in Seattle, the Seahawks dominate. The 12th man will be jacked to capacity. Get your seismic meters ready. This is the best Seahawks team ever, and they will not be denied. These teams will hit each other in the mouth, but Seattle will get in the better body blows and be left standing when the clock runs out.

Eric Golub

Brooklyn born, Long Island raised and now living in Los Angeles, Eric Golub is a politically conservative columnist, blogger, author, public speaker, satirist and comedian. Read more from Eric at his TYGRRRR EXPRESS blog. Eric is the author of the book trilogy “Ideological Bigotry, “Ideological Violence,” and “Ideological Idiocy.”