Canelo vs. Golovkin: our boxing fan’s fight schedule

Canelo Alvarez and Gennady Golovkin will meet Saturday in Las Vegas, but you can enjoy a week full of fan activities before the big event from anywhere. See our complete list here.

0
467
The long awaited middleweight championship bout between Canelo Alvarez and Gennady Golovkin is days away, with a full week of activities leading up to Fight Night. Photo: Tom Hogan, Hogan Photos/Golden Boy Promotions

LAS VEGAS, Nevada, September 12, 2017 – The duel in the desert boxing fans have been waiting for has finally arrived. It’s Fight Week for the middleweight matchup between Saul “Canelo” Alvarez and Gennady “Triple G” Golovkin. The fight is the main dish, but there are plenty of appetizers this week fans can enjoy from a tasty boxing buffet.

Communities Digital News will cover the action in Las Vegas with plenty of inside details.  HBO Sports offers viewers with an in-depth look across television, digital and social platforms at event set Saturday, September 16 at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas. The mega-event will be produced and distributed live by HBO Pay-Per-View® beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.

 


Fans will have access to original programming, specials, updates from HBO Boxing Insiders and exclusive videos leading up to fight night. There will also be behind-the-scenes photos, videos, live streams and other customized content available.

Visit HBO Boxing’s YouTube channel for daily HBO Boxing News videos.

The HBO Boxing Podcast will have daily episodes throughout fight week, including live episodes on the ground from Las Vegas. You can listen to the HBO Boxing Podcast on iTunes, SoundCloud, and Stitcher.

Fans get to greet the fighters as they arrive in Las Vegas on Tuesday. Photo: Tom Hogan, Hogan Photos/Golden Boy Promotions

Tuesday, September 12

Fighter Arrivals, MGM Grand Lobby
Watch live online: RingTV.com

12 noon: Ryan Martin and Francisco Rojo
12:15 p.m.: Randy Caballero and Diego De La Hoya
12:30 p.m.: Joseph Diaz Jr. and Jorge Lara
12:45 p.m.: Gennady Golovkin
1:15 p.m.: Canelo Alvarez

Gennady Golovkin speaks with media and fans as he arrives at a June news conference. Photo: Tom Hogan, Hogan Photos/Golden Boy Promotions

Wednesday, September 13
Final news conference livestream: 3 p.m. ET/12 noon PT

Thursday, September 14
2 p.m. ET/11 a.m. PT

Undercard news conference, MGM Grand David Copperfield Theater.

Ryan “Blue Chip” Martin leads a solid lineup of competitors on the Canelo vs. Golovkin undercard. Photo: Tom Hogan, Golden Boy Promotions

Watch live online: RingTV.com

Ryan Martin vs. Francisco Rojo
Randy Caballero vs. Diego De La Hoya
Joseph “Jo Jo” Diaz Jr. vs Jorge Lara

Fans wait for hours to get into weigh-in events for major bouts at the MGM Grand Garden Arena, like the fight in May between Canelo Alvarez and Julio Cesar Chavez Jr. Photo: Gayle Falkenthal, Communities Digital News

Friday, September 15

See the Official Weigh-In via HBO Boxing livestream here at 3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT.

Weigh-In 360-Degree livestream via Facebook Live (Main Event + Interviews) at 4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT.

Canelo/Golovkin Programming Stacks on HBO
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 1 – 6:15 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 2 – 6:45 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO
Under The Lights: Canelo/Golovkin – 7:15 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO
Canelo/Golovkin Programming Stacks on HBO2
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 1 – 11 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO2
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 2 – 11:30 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO2
Under The Lights: Canelo/Golovkin – Midnight (ET/PT) HBO2
HBO Boxing Podcast – “Post Weigh-In Discussion/Live from Radio Row”

Who will prevail? The young Mexican superstar or the Kazakh killer? Photo: Tom Hogan, Hogan Photos/Golden Boy Boxing

Saturday, September 16

Canelo/Golovkin Programming Stacks on HBO
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 1 – 3:45 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 2 – 4:15 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO
Under The Lights: Canelo/Golovkin – 4:45 p.m. (ET/PT) HBO

Canelo/Golovkin Programming Stacks on HBO2
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 1 – 10:30 a.m. (ET/PT) HBO2
24/7 Canelo/Golovkin Ep. 2 – 11 a.m. (ET/PT) HBO2
Under The Lights: Canelo/Golovkin – 11:30 a.m. (ET/PT) HBO2

Facebook Live Q&A with Max Kellerman prior to start of the PPV telecast at approximately 5 p.m. ET/2 p.m. PT.

See the preliminary undercards via livestream here starting at 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT

Boxing fans can also view Canelo vs. Cotto 2015 and Golovkin vs. Jacobs 2017. These classic fights are available on HBO On Demand, HBO GO, HBO NOW, HBO.com and YouTube.com/HBOBoxing.

Follow our discussion at @CommDigiNews and @PRProSanDiego all week from Las Vegas. Follow the conversation using #CaneloGGG.

Gayle Lynn Falkenthal, APR, is President/Owner of the Falcon Valley Group in San Diego, California. She is also a serious boxing fan covering the Sweet Science for Communities. Read more Ringside Seat in Communities Digital News. Follow Gayle on Facebook and on Twitter @PRProSanDiego.

Please credit “Gayle Falkenthal for Communities Digital News” when quoting from or linking to this story.

Copyright © 2017 by Falcon Valley Group

 

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2017 Communities Digital News

• The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the editors or management of Communities Digital News.

This article is the copyrighted property of the writer and Communities Digital News, LLC. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

Correspondingly, Communities Digital News, LLC uses its best efforts to operate in accordance with the Fair Use Doctrine under US Copyright Law and always tries to provide proper attribution. If you have reason to believe that any written material or image has been innocently infringed, please bring it to the immediate attention of CDN via the e-mail address or phone number listed on the Contact page so that it can be resolved expeditiously.