Atlanta Press Club to enshrine notable journalists into Hall of Fame

Photos courtesy Atlanta Press Club

ATLANTA, Oct. 31, 2014 — Four notable journalists with Atlanta backgrounds will be enshrined in the Atlanta Press Club Hall of Fame during a dinner and ceremony next Friday.

Tom Brokaw, Celestine Sibley, Claude Sitton and Brenda Wood will join 16 others who have been inducted in the Hall since its founding in 2011. Previous honorees include legendary Atlanta Constitution editor Henry W. Grady, author Margaret Mitchell and former WSB-TV anchor Monica Pearson.

“Journalism has played and continues to play such an important role in shaping the history of Atlanta, Georgia and the Southeast,” said Anita Sharpe, president of the Atlanta Press Club. “Induction into the Atlanta Press Club’s Hall of Fame is the highest honor we can bestow on these remarkable journalists for their contributions, and we are honored to take a moment to celebrate their work.”

Brokaw served as news editor for WSB-TV before joining NBC News in 1966, where he served as White House correspondent during the Watergate scandal and later anchored “NBC Nightly News with Tom Brokaw.” During his career, Brokaw has won numerous awards, including two DuPonts, a Peabody and several Emmys.

Sibley, who died in 1999, was a reporter and columnist for The Atlanta Constitution from 1941 until 1999. During her career, she penned more than 10,000 columns and news stories and also authored more than 30 books between 1958 and 1997.

Sitton joined The New York Times in 1958 as the newspaper’s Southern correspondent. In that role, he established himself as one of the leading reporters on the Civil Rights movement and was honored in 1983 with a Pulitzer Prize for distinguished commentary while with The News & Observer newspaper in Raleigh, N.C.

Wood joined WXIA-TV in 1997 after stints in Huntsville, Ala.; Memphis, Tenn.; and Nashville, Tenn. Among her many awards are 15 Emmys from the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS), six awards from the Atlanta Association of Black Journalists (AABJ) and three honors from the Georgia Association of Broadcasters (GAB).

A number of media notables, including New York Times Publisher Arthur Ochs Sulzberger Jr. and CNN founder Ted Turner, are expected to attend the Nov. 7 ceremony. Turner was inducted into the Atlanta Press Club Hall of Fame in 2011.

For more information, call (404) 577-7377 or visit

Click here for reuse options!
Copyright 2014 Communities Digital News

• The views expressed in this article are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the editors or management of Communities Digital News.

This article is the copyrighted property of the writer and Communities Digital News, LLC. Written permission must be obtained before reprint in online or print media. REPRINTING CONTENT WITHOUT PERMISSION AND/OR PAYMENT IS THEFT AND PUNISHABLE BY LAW.

Correspondingly, Communities Digital News, LLC uses its best efforts to operate in accordance with the Fair Use Doctrine under US Copyright Law and always tries to provide proper attribution. If you have reason to believe that any written material or image has been innocently infringed, please bring it to the immediate attention of CDN via the e-mail address or phone number listed on the Contact page so that it can be resolved expeditiously.