Skip to main content

The Solstice heralds the official start of Summer

Written By | Jun 20, 2017

(image via cc-by-sa:2.0 – © Peter Trimming – geograph.org.uk:p:1626228 )

SAN DIEGO, June 20, 2017– Summer is coming to America! When the Sun is at its most northern point from the equator, summer solstice begins. It is also the longest day of each year, and the brightest having the most
hours of sunlight!

According to The Old Farmer’s Almanac, summer solstice in the Northern
Hemisphere occurs Jun 21, 12:24 A.M., Eastern Standard Time; Tuesday, June
20, 11:24 P.M., Central Standard Time; Tuesday, June 20, 10:24 P.M.,
Mountain Standard Time; and, Tuesday, June 20, 9:24 P.M. Pacific Standard
Time.

As the Sun is at its highest point in the sky, its rays hit the Earth more
directly, therefore causing a warming trend.




Most of us love summer as a time to soak up the Sun by swimming, camping,
visiting parks and participating in other forms of outdoor recreation.

(image of Cape Cod via pixabay)

It is also a time when most families travel, and many take to the
highways, byways and scenic routes while enjoying the sense of freedom
and camaraderie of the great American road trip.

Whatever the variety of activities chosen, summer is celebrated with
different customs around the world and are only a flight away.

According to Cheapflights.com, here are the “Top 10 Solstice Celebrations
Around the World:

1. Secret Solstice Festival, Reykjavik, Iceland.

2. Stonehenge, Wiltshire, England.

3. Times Square, New York, New York, United States.

4. Solstice Fires, Tyrol, Austria.

5. Summer Solstice Aboriginal Arts Festival, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

6. Kupala, Krakow, Poland.



7. Festival of Saint Joan, Menorca, Spain.

8. Santa Barbara Summer Solstice Celebration, Santa Barbara, California,
United States

9 Midsummer, Stockholm Sweden.

10. Astrofest, Istria, Croatia.

 

(photo of Ocean Beach, CA by Sutton Porter/courtesy of Laurie Edwards-Tate)

Enjoy the beauty of summer, wherever the spirit leads!

Make summer 2017 the best one yet!

Remember to keep cool, drink plenty of water and always to wear sunscreen
while enjoying fun in the sun.

For a unique summer solstice online experience, watch and experience a
live interactive broadcast during at the beginning of summer in your exact
time zone courtesy of Slooh.com.

Until next time, enjoy the ride in good health!

Laurie Edwards-Tate

Since 1984, Laurie Edwards-Tate has served as President and Founder of At Your Home Familycare, a non-medical Home Care Aide Organization, serving seniors, disabled, infirm and children. Laurie is Board of Director 2018 (elected), Palomar Health; Executive Board Member; Chair Board Human Resources Committee; Member of Audits & Compliance Committee; Community Relations Committee.